Women have made great strides in the pursuit of education, careers and leadership roles they were once denied. However, they still comprise a minority of leaders in the business world. As of December 2020, 21.2% of S&P 500 companies’ board seats are occupied by women, and just 6% of the companies’ CEOs are women.

Because Zonta International believes in gender equality, the Jane M. Klausman (JMK) Women in Business Scholarship program helps women pursue undergraduate and master’s degrees in business management and overcome gender barriers from the classroom to the boardroom. The Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarship program was established in 1998 from a generous bequest by Jane M. Klausman, a member of the Zonta Club of Syracuse, New York, USA, and the 1990-1995 Zonta International Parliamentarian.

The program operates at the Zonta club, district/region and international levels. Zonta annually awards up to 32 scholarships of US$2,000 each at the district/region level and six international scholarships in the amount of US$8,000 each.

Since the program’s inception, Zonta has awarded 640 scholarships, totaling more than US$1.5 million, to 492 women representing 58 countries.


Women of any age, pursuing a business program with major field of specialization in accounting, economics, finance, business management, marketing, operations management, human resources management, international business, or entrepreneurship at an accredited university/college/institute, who demonstrate outstanding potential in the field and are living or studying in a Zonta district/region, are eligible. Online students are also eligible to apply if enrolled at an accredited university/college/institute.

Students must be enrolled in at least the second year of an undergraduate program through the final year of a Master’s program at the time the application is submitted to the local Zonta club. Applicants must be in school at the time the scholarship funds are disbursed and must not graduate before December. Previous International Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarship recipients may not apply to renew the Scholarship for a second year.

Classified members (club members and individuals with direct membership with Zonta International) and employees of Zonta International and Zonta  Foundation for Women, and their family members (ancestors, descendants, adoptees, siblings, nieces or cousins, and those of their spouse or co-habiting partner), are not eligible to apply for the Scholarship.

Golden Z club members may apply.

Applications must be received by a local Zonta club. Click here to locate a club near you. Applicants from geographic areas within a Zonta district/region where no clubs are located will be considered and are eligible to apply for the district/region and international awards.

Apply Now


The deadline to apply for the 2021 scholarship varies by club, but is typically between April and June. Contact your local club for the deadline. Districts must receive club applications by 15 August, unless otherwise determined.


Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarships are made possible through investment income generated by the Klausman bequest, and by generous contributions from Zontians, Zonta clubs and friends of Zonta to the Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarship Fund.


2020 JMK Scholars | PDF

2020 JMK Scholars’ Bios | PDF | LINK

International Recipients

Shanley Weston, District 1, Canada
Caroline Simon, District 3, USA
Tara Liegel, District 6, USA
Sanuri De Silva Wimalatunga, District 22, Sri Lanka
Rupsi Parajuli, District 25, Nepal
Laura Ballerini, District 28, Italy

District/Region Recipients

Angela Fu, District 2, USA
Madison Buchholz, District 4, USA
Lauren Black, District 5, USA
Santina Zito, District 7, USA
Ching Ying (Jessica) Hu, District 8, Canada
Kya Kraus, District 9, USA
Maria Ramos Acuna, District 10, Colombia
Rikki Bryant, District 11, USA
Sarah Lurie, District 12, USA
Angelika Pawusch, District 13, Germany
Cristina Konrad Daga, District 14, Germany and Spain
Briana Nowak, District 15, USA
Cecilia (Xi Yue) Wang, District 16, New Zealand
Lok Yan Joyce Chiu, District 17, Hong Kong
Winnie Benson-Tambo, District 18, Ghana
Bernardita Castillo, Region South America, Chile
Rosa Nylén, District 20, Finland
Rahmat Surakat, District 21, Ghana
Marina Sarkoski, District 23, Macedonia and Australia
Ruby Moylan, District 24, Australia
Yuka Fukuyama, District 26, Japan
Robyn Coppens, District 27, Belgium
Sakura de Vries, District 29, Netherlands
Clara Galvez Flores, District 30, Bolivia
Ying Li, District 31, Taiwan (ROC)
Woojin Lee, District 32, South Korea


If you have any questions, please email

For more information please open this link

Join Us On Telegram @rubyskynews

Apply any time of year for Internships/ Scholarships