Lotus Classic CarsPicture Of Lotus Classic Cars

Even after Chapman’s death, until the late 1980s, Lotus continued to be a major player in Formula One. Ayrton Senna drove for the team from 1985 to 1987, winning twice in each year and achieving 17 pole positions. However, by the company’s last Formula One race in 1994, the cars were no longer competitive. Lotus won a total of 79 Grand Prix races. During his lifetime Chapman saw Lotusbeat Ferrari as the first team to achieve 50 Grand Prix victories, despite Ferrarihaving won their first nine years sooner.

Formula One Constructors’ Championships (Drivers’ Championship winner for Lotus)

* 1963 (Jim Clark)
* 1965 (Jim Clark)
* 1968 (Graham Hill)
* 1970 (Jochen Rindt)
* 1972 (Emerson Fittipaldi)
* 1973
* 1978 (Mario Andretti)

Team Lotus established Classic Team Lotus in 1992, as the Works historic motorsport activity. Classic Team Lotus continues to maintain Lotus F1 cars and run them in the FIA Historic Formula One Championship and it preserves the Team Lotus archive and Works Collection of cars, under the management of Colin Chapman’s son, Clive.

Lotus Classic CarsPicture Of Lotus Classic Cars

Lotus (under the name Lotus F1 Team) will take up the 13th spot on the grid in the 2010 Formula One Championship. The new team is unrelated to the previous incarnation of Team Lotus, although it is funded by a Malaysian Consortium including Proton (the owner of Lotus Cars), and has legal rights to use the the Lotus name.

Join Us On Telegram @rubyskynews

Apply any time of year for Internships/ Scholarships